Standards Wise International - Blog

SWI proud to partner Global Ageing Network’s Covid-19 report

In February 2021 the Global Ageing Network (GAN) released a report, ‘Elder Care Providers and Covid 19: A Cross-Cultural Perspective. The report was conducted by Dr Emi Kiyota, the founder and director of Ibasho, an organisation that facilitates the co-creation with elders of socially integrated, sustainable communities that value their elders.  

The report was partnered by Standards Wise International and LeadingAge. Dr Kiyota and her team interviewed providers and other stakeholders in 11 countries about their experiences of Covid-19 during the period February-November 2020. The 11 countries were: Argentina, Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands, Nigeria, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, and the United Kingdom. 
The coronavirus pandemic shed light on inequities among elder care providers in different parts of the world. These inequities include the financial resources needed, but not always available, to tackle the coronavirus. It also revealed how unprepared elder care systems were to respond promptly to challenges that require global coordination. These points are reflected in the report and the testimony from individual providers and staff also demonstrates how, despite these shared challenges, the different (often financial) situations of the various countries meant their actions and reactions varied. 
As a Thought Leader on National and International trends, models, experiences, and legislation related to Senior Living and Human Services, Standards Wise International was delighted to partner with the Global Ageing Network in such an important piece of research. 
You can read the report here: Global-Ageing-Network-COVID-19-Research-Report.pdf       
A webinar to discuss the report and its findings has been arranged for 6th April at 8-9am US EDT: 

Sydney, Australia, Wed, 7 Apr 2021 at 12:00 am AEDT    
London, United Kingdom, Tue, 6 Apr 2021 at 1:00 pm GMT    
Mumbai, India, Tue, 6 Apr 2021 at 6:30 pm IST

Email info@globalageing.org for link to the ZOOM webinar.